Google Meet: Host Controls (Share Screen)

Manage who can share their screen

To control who can share their screen in a meeting, hosts can turn “Share their screen” on or off. This setting will be on by default.

Participants will see the option to share their screen to all meeting participants when “Share their Screen” is on.

When “Share their screen” is off:

  • Only the host can share their screen.
  • The option to “Present Now” won’t show for participants.

Hosts can turn “Share their screen” on or off from within meetings on the web. Hosts will not see the option to change this setting on mobile devices.

There are two ways to navigate to the Host Controls.

The following steps are demonstrated by the red indicators on the image above.

  1. Click on “People” at the top right of the screen.
  2. Select “Host Controls”.
  3. Click on “Share their Screen” on/off button.

The following steps are demonstrated by the blue indicators on the image above.

  1. Select the blue icon with a lock on the bottom left.
  2. Click on “Share their Screen” on/off button.

Additional moderator controls will be released in the coming months for Google Meet.