Google Meet: Host Controls (Send Chat Messages On/Off

Manage who can send in-meeting chat messages

To control who can send chat messages in a meeting, hosts can turn “Send chat messages” on or off. By default, this setting will be on.

When “Send chat messages” is on, participants will see the option to send chat messages to meeting participants.

When “Send chat messages” is off:

  • Only the host can send chat messages, but participants will still be able to see messages sent by the host.
  • Messages sent when “Send chat messages” was on will still show in the chat history.

Hosts can turn “Send chat messages” on or off from within meetings on the web. Hosts will not see the option to change this setting on mobile devices.

There are two ways to navigate to the Host Controls.

The following steps are demonstrated by the red indicators on the image above.

  1. Click on “People” at the top right of the screen.
  2. Select “Host Controls”.
  3. Click on “Send Chat Messages” on/off button.

The following steps are demonstrated by the blue indicators on the image above.

  1. Select the blue icon with a lock on the bottom left.
  2. Click on “Send Chat Messages” on/off button.